A LITTLE ABOUT US

garry-pamGarry and Pamela Carter became landlords of the pub in November 2002. The pub is renowned for its friendly and welcoming atmosphere serving quality home-made food.

The Dawnay Arms has a good selection of hand pulled cask ales as well as a wide selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks.

The menu boasts a wide selection of dishes from traditional bar food to the finer chefs specials prepared in house by chef Nicholas Taylor.

In the summer months there is an attractive decked courtyard adorned with tubs and hanging baskets and seating for those warm summer evenings.

There is limited car parking to the front with a large car park to the rear which is accessed via Station Lane.

Some history

Despite lying almost two miles apart, the alliance of Shipton and Beningbrough is steeped in history, and stems from the fact that Shipton was part of the Beningbrough Estate when it was owned by first the Bourdner family, and then the Dawnay family. It only gained its independence in 1917, when the Beningbrough Estate was broken up.

The village of Shipton was first mentioned in 1066, in the Domesday book. Shipton, Overton and Beningbrough were, by all accounts, very popular settlements in the 16th and 17th century, because they were part of the Royal Forest of Galtres, where English monarchs loved to hunt. In 1655, Ann Middleton, one of Yorkshire’s greatest philanthropists, left £1000.00 to build a grammar school in the village. She also left 20 Shillings a year, to the poor of Shipton until 1850, when the Lord of the Manor, the Hon. Payan Dawnay, knocked it down, and built a new one.

The village public house was once known as, The Bay Horse, and was originally built in 1730. It became The Dawnay Arms in Hon Payan’s lifetime, and boasts the family Coat if Arms over the door. Despite the A19 dominating the village, it remains full of character, and The Dawnay Arms is one of the most attractive and welcoming village inns in the whole of the Vale of York.